BSc (Hons) Software Development with Cyber Security (University of Stirling)

This course is a unique and exciting opportunity which will kick start a career in one of Scotland’s most thriving industries.

This degree has been developed with input from employers across the Scottish ICT community and will deliver the skills required to take advantage of the 11,000 job opportunities available each year.

Students will develop skills in key ICT areas with a focus on software development and analytical skills. There will be an emphasis on employability skills and industrial awareness to ensure graduates are ‘work-ready’ on completion of their course.  Specialist units in Cyber Security (Ethical Haking and Digital Forensics) are included.

The degree is taught jointly by Forth Valley College and the University of Stirling. Classes for the first two years will be delivered at Forth Valley College’s campus in Falkirk.

Students who are placed in University accommodation at Stirling should be aware that they will be required to travel from Stirling to Falkirk for the first two years of their studies and should budget for travel costs accordingly.

UCAS Code: T5G6)

For further information, please visit the University of Stirling website here.

If you would like to apply for the Partnership Degree course, you can request to be sent a link to our custom built direct application form, rather than completing a UCAS application form. We can offer assistance in completing the form. If you would prefer this option, please email the University of Stirling at requesting the link to the direct form and advising which course you wish to apply for. 

If you would like further information or guidance, please contact Forth Valley College’s University Partnership Officer, Lisa Baxter:

Year 1

  • Computer Systems Fundamentals
  • Developing Software: Introduction
  • Troubleshooting Computing Problems
  • Professionalism and Ethics in Computing
  • Mathematics: Calculus and Matrices for Computing
  • Software Development: Programming Foundations
  • Team Working in Computing
  • User Centred Design 
  • Introduction to Project Management
  • Testing Software
  • HNC Computing: Graded Unit 1 (Exam)
  • Software Development: Developing Small Scale Standalone Applications
  • Digital Forensics
  • Ethical Hacking

Year 2

  • Object Orientated Programming
  • Object Orientated Analysis and Design
  • Software Development: Developing Websites for Multiplatform Use
  • Graded Unit 2 -Project
  • Website Essentials
  • Data Structures
  • Relational Database Management Systems
  •  SQL: Introduction

Year 3

  • Professional Development for Computer Scientists
  • Scripting for Data Science
  • Software Engineering II
  • Information Systems 
  • Computer Games Development
  • UX Design
  • Operating Systems Concurrency & Distribution
  • Code Analysis & Performance
  • Industrial Work Placement (compulsory)

    Year 4
  • Honours project (compulsory)
  • Computer Science & Networks
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • NoSQL Databases 
  • Web Services
  • Mobile App Development

  • Software Engineer
  • System Designer
  • Systems Engineer
  • Systems Analyst
  • Systems Architect
  • Systems Administrator
  • Software Developer
  • Web Developer
  • Project Manager
  • NET Developer
  • Applications Developer
  • Mobile Applications Developer
  • Java Developer
  • Network Engineer
  • Programmer
  • Programmer Analyst
  • Security Analyst
  • Security Software Developer

One of the following:

  • Three Highers at grade B (or equivalent) including at least one of Mathematics, Computing, Physics or Chemistry (If the applicant does not possess Higher Maths, then National 5 Maths is required at grade B or above)
  • Foundation Apprenticeship in Software Development plus two further Highers at B or equivalent to include one of Maths, Computing, Physics or Chemistry (If the applicant does not possess Higher Maths, then National 5 Maths is required at grade B or above)
  • Applicants with a different qualification or grade profile are still welcome to apply, as all applications are considered on their own merits
  • NC Computing (with Cyber Security)


Falkirk Campus



Start date

28 August 2023

End date

07 June 2024

SCQF Level

Level 10

Apply for this course with UCAS