Senior Management Team

The Senior Management Team is responsible for the overall management of the College and is led by the Principal.

Professor Ken Thomson OBE - Principal and Chief Executive

Dr Ken Thomson OBE

Professor Ken Thomson OBE joined Falkirk College of Further and Higher Education in 1994 following eight years in environmental education. He became Principal and Chief Executive of Forth Valley College in 2013 having previously held posts of Depute Principal, Director of Learning and prior to that, Head of Science.

Ken graduated from the University of Nottingham with a BSc (Hons) in Zoology (1982) followed by a PhD at the University of Edinburgh (1986). He completed his Teacher Qualification FE from Strathclyde University in 1997.  Ken was an HMI Associate Assessor for Science from 1999 to 2006. 

Ken is a member of the Colleges Scotland Principals Group (CPG) with lead responsibility for the sector’s Digital Ambition and School College Partnerships. He is a member of the Scottish Government’s Curriculum and Assessment Board as the Scottish Colleges representative. He is a Board member of the Scottish Qualifications Authority, Chairs the SQA Qualifications Committee and is a member of the Audit Committee and Advisory Council. Ken has been a Board member of HES and on the Board of Trustees for Jisc, both roles held from 2014 to January 2021. Ken is a Fellow of the Institute of Directors and was awarded Regional IoD Director of the Year in 2020.

In November 2019, Ken was awarded the OBE for services to education, economic development and the communities of the Forth Valley area.  

Ken also received an Honorary Professorship from the University of Stirling in January 2022 in recognition of his contribution to the academic work of the Faculty of Social Sciences.

Away from work, Ken is a keen cricketer and is now trying his hand at fly fishing.