NPA Professional Cookery (Schools)

The National Progression Award in Professional Cookery at SCQF level 5 is designed to equip candidates with the skills and knowledge required to progress onto full-time college programmes such as City and Guilds Professional Cookery Level 2 (SCQF equivalent level 5) or to seek employment in the hospitality and catering industry, eg as commis chef/chef apprentice. The NPA is aimed at candidates who may be interested in pursuing a career in the catering industry but who have limited prior experience of cookery.

The deadline for applications is Friday 19 April 2024 but early applications are encouraged.


Stirling Campus- Friday (August 2024-June 2025)

This National Progression Award consists of three mandatory units (24 SCQF credit points).

Mandatory units include:

  • Professional Cookery: Practical
  • Pastry
  • Food Hygiene for the Hospitality Industry

  • Full time courses in Hospitality or Professional Cookery
  • Entry level Cook position
  • Catering Assistant

  • Pupils will have achieved 4 Nat 4’s including English and maths and working towards National 5’s
  • An interest in cookery is essential, as well as an ability to work as part of a team


Stirling Campus

Start date

14 June 2024

SCQF Level

Level 5